Turkey Patties with Avocado and Sweet Potato Fries for Two! Yum!

**Preheat oven to 450 degrees for the fries.**

2013-07-17 21.55.31

Ingredients

  • 2 organic turkey burger patties (I use Applegate Organics)
  • 1 tbsp parsley (freshly chopped or dry)
  • dash of sea salt
  • dash of black pepper
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 slices of cheese (Use any kind you want. I used muenster cheese.)
  • 1 avocado
  • 1-2 cups sweet potato fries (I use Alexia, all natural sweet potato fries with sea salt.)

This is a simple meal that only takes 20-30 minutes to prepare and cook.  I love the Applegate products!  They are the only brand I have seen (so far) that not only tastes good but does not contain any antibiotics, nitrates or gluten and are casein free.  The turkeys are also humanely raised and not treated poorly by those folks you see in the documentary Food Inc.  Each patty contains 17g of protein, zero sugars, zero carbohydrates and are low in sodium.  You can also marinate them with anything I want!

2013-07-17 21.56.13

First, marinate the turkey patties with 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce on each patty and on both sides.  Sprinkle a dash of sea salt, black pepper, brown sugar and parsley on both sides of each patty.  I like to lightly press down on the patty so the each ingredient can stick.

2013-07-17 21.42.08Parsley is one of the most nutritious garnishes that can be found at any grocery store.  It is an excellent source of vitamins K, C, and A and has zero calories.

Place a non-stick skillet on medium heat (my stove top dials have number so I chose 5), spray with cooking spray and then place your patties on the skillet with a spatula.  I tried placing the patties with my hand and they completely fell apart! Cook the patties for 6-8 minutes on each side.

 

 

 

2013-07-17 21.43.00

 

 This dish is also a great after workout meal, hence my outfit.🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2013-07-17 21.55.41

Once you get the patties going, start on the sweet potato fries.  I usually make sweet potato fries from scratch but Alexia is a good brand that is quick and does not require peeling.  Fresh sweet potatoes also take longer to bake.  You can find them at most grocery stores.  Costco has a gigantic bag that can save you $$$$!  I tend to start the fries before cooing anything else so they come out nice and crispy.  Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and place the fries on top.  Spread the fries around so they do not stick to each other.  Spray the fries with cooking spray.  This will help the parsley and sea salt stick.  Sprinkle the fries with parsley.  I added sea salt because I like it a little more salty.  Bake at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.

Once your patties are done, top them with any cheese of your liking and some fresh sliced avocado.  I added a side of organic baby carrots and a bowl of sliced cucumbers with lemon and a sprinkle of sea salt. YUM!🙂

Here is the finished product!

2013-07-17 22.04.49

I just LOVE the avocados!! So good!

 I hope you like this recipe! Leave some feedback in the comment box below.  I would love to hear about your experience with this recipe and any other ingredients you may have tried.

Cheers!🙂

Nancy Rae

Leave a Reply

