Curry Lentil Soup

Curry Lentil Soup

CYMERA_20130727_205903

I could not find a lentil soup recipe that did not seem bland.  So, as curious and determined as I am, I decided to just make my own and risk the only 1 pound bag of lentils I had.  I was either going to love it, hate it, and then throw it all away.  Well, it turned out AMAZING and extremely flavorful!! Thank goodness because I have tried some horrible lentil soup, which turned me away from ever trying or making it.

IMG_20130727_200038

Ingredients:

1 lb lentils (I used Trader Joe’s green lentils)

1 cup filtered water

5 cups low-sodium chicken broth (I used central market organics)

1 celery stalk (finely chopped)

1 carrot (finely chopped)

1 garlic clove (finely chopped)

¼ onion (finely chopped)

3 handfuls fresh spinach (not frozen)

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

5 bay leaves

½ tsp ground coriander

½ tbsp curry powder

¼ tsp turmeric

¼ parsley

¼ tsp dried rosemary

1/8 ground ginger

2 tsp tomato paste

¼ c tomato sauce

*1 tomato (finely chopped-optional)

Get started!!

Warm up a stockpot and add the olive oil on low-medium heat.  Stir in the celery, carrot, garlic and onion. Sauté for about 8 minutes or until the onion lightly browns.  Pour in the broth and water and raise heat to medium.  Stir in the rest of the ingredients, cover and let boil for 35-40 minutes.  Stir occasionally so you don’t have blobs of tomato paste.  Turn off the heat and let the soup simmer for 10 minutes until the lentils are nice and soft.

I personally do not like the texture of tomatoes so I left it out.  It is a great addition for flavor if you are a fan of the red goodness.

Please comment below and let me know what you think about the recipe! What types of ingredients have you tried?  I would love to hear from you all. Don’t forget to share the recipe!!

Cheers!

~Nancy Rae

One thought on “Curry Lentil Soup

  1. Pingback: Red Mobster Drink, Shrimp and Lentil Soup and Broiled Catfish on a Grit Cake with Horseradish Cream Sauce | flatcoldgood

Leave a Reply

