My 2 Cents and “8 Habits of Insanely Fit People” by HuffPost – Healthy Living

I have to say, being fit or trying to be fit has to be a lifestyle change.  Personally, I can’t go two days without going to the gym.  The gym can be very annoying though but you just have to stick to your own grove.  I think other people see me as a “b” or someone who just doesn’t give a crap about what others think.  When I am at the gym, I am in a zone.  If anyone tries to talk to me I won’t even notice unless they are directly in front of my face.  I literally had someone creaming out my name and waving and I did not notice them until they approached me face to face. ha! My headphones are always blasting and my eyes are only on my equipment and my posture.  I like to ignore people around me because you always have that “dude” or “chick” who wears flip-flops or jeans, grunts super loud and “tries” to show off like people are watching their every move, looks like they are about to hurt themselves or who is just plain creepy.

The gym or outdoor workouts are also great stress relievers.  I don’t know about you but pumping some iron, sprinting or kicking and hitting a punching bad really helps take out anger or stress.  If you need an excuse to just let out something out, try hitting the gym or going to a run or walk. 36917_10100257929943200_6391845_n

Back to the reason I started this post…

Watching fit celebrities is great and all but it’s not the true example us “normal” people should be looking up to.  I know a lot of fit and healthy people and they don’t look like celebrities and they don’t have private chefs either.  In fact, I know some that look even better and that a great cooks!  You don’t need money and fame to be fit.  All you need to do is change your daily routines.  If you think the gym is boring, try a new fitness class. Groupon has some great fitness deals that can really spike up your interests for breaking a sweat.  Check out the link below.

8 Habits of Insanely Fit People from HuffPost-Healthy Living

Here are my 2 cents after reading this short article…

There is no such thing as a “diet” if you are fit and healthy!  Really!  All those “diets” you watch on commercials or read online are bull.  True bull.  No one sticks to those diets!  They can also screw your body up.  A true fit and healthy person has a daily routine of how they eat, how many times they eat, and they know what not to eat.

Cheat days are the best!  Every fit and healthy person has at least one cheat meal or cheat day.  I love to cheat with pizza!! Plus, cheat days also help you remember what you are being healthy for.  They also help you realize how your body reacts to unhealthy foods. Try quitting sodas for a few weeks.  Once you try one again, it won’t feel as great. Try not eating bread for a week.  You will feel more energized and less bloated. I know that for a fact!

As a music educator, I believe there is an instrument for everyone!  I think the same thing for exercising.  There is a workout out there for you!  Whether it’s running, yoga, hiking, swimming, cross fit, Pilates, weight lifting, etc., there is something out there for you to enjoy.  Working out with a partner also helps.  My fiancé and I go to the gym every day around the same time.  He mostly goes to workout his back since he has scoliosis.  We have a routine and it’s a great one!  We give each other pointers and talk about new workouts we have tried and liked.  If either of us ever say we don’t feel like going to the gym, the other is there for support.  We also very much support each other on cheat days.🙂  Everyone has those days!

Fit and healthy people rest! We have off days and also need sleep!  You can’t expect to get any type of results from exercising if you are running on 4-6 hours of sleep.  On a great day, I need about 8-9 hours of sleep!  If I get any less, I have to take a nap and then I get groggy from sleeping my evening away.  After that, I get grouchy because I have zero energy to workout and my night is gone. Bleh! Get some sleep y’all!

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD EAT BREAKFAST PEOPLE!!!  I lost count of how many people I have spoken to (whether at work or with friends) who do not eat breakfast.  Seriously!   You screw up your body if you don’t eat! I literally had someone tell me, “I ate a big dinner so I am not eating breakfast tomorrow…” Um, WTH? Really?? Not only are you NOT burning fat but also you are loosing muscle.  You are decreasing your level of energy.  You are screwing up your metabolism.  Food!  Eat Food!  It’s important for your own good.  Eating at least 5 meals a day boots your metabolism, gives you energy and feeds your muscles.  3 meals a day won’t hack it.  Don’t say you don’t like breakfast either! Eat some Greek yogurt, fruit, dry almonds, peanut butter with apples, egg whites, hard-boiled eggs, granola, bacon and eggs (yes, I said that!), an egg white omelet with spinach and avocado (yum), or just make a smoothie.  Find something to eat in the morning.  Try it for one week and see how you feel.   Your metabolism will be much faster and you won’t want to miss another meal!

If you need motivation to workout, talk to someone who has made a change in his or her life.  Ask questions about how they felt before they started eating better and working out.  Meet real people.  Don’t look at magazines or BS commercials.   Go to the gym, take a tour and read bios on clients that have lost weight and feel great.  Trust me, you will feel great no matter what you have to do and no matter how long it takes.  You will have “good” days and “bad” days.  Every fit and healthy person has those days just about every week.  Remember that.  You are not alone. You have support.  Do it for YOU!  Go get fit and be healthy!

That’s my 2 cents!

Cheers!

~Nancy Rae

Read, comment, follow and share below!🙂

Leave a Reply

