Cleansing Green Juice

20131110-121646.jpg

I LOVE juicing especially after having a cheat meal… or 4. ha!  I try to juice on the weekends so my body can have a chance to relax and get rid of all the toxins in my body.  It helps relieve bloating and helps me regain lost energy.

You will need a juicer and not a blender for this recipe.  I am not a big fan of blended juices because of the texture.  A Vitamix or a Ninja blender would not work either as they mostly purée the vegetables.  In order to make a juice with those appliances, you will need to use cheese cloth.  It is a pain in the rear to strain puréed foods with a cheese cloth!!
My brand of juicer is the Jack La Lanne Ultimate Power Juicer. It was purchased from Costco for about $89.99.20131110-122309.jpg

Ingredients
1/4 of a cucumber
Handful of fresh kale without stems
2 large sticks of celery
1 green apple chopped
Handful of fresh parsley
2 handfuls of fresh spinach
Small piece of ginger about the size of a quarter

Make sure to rinse all produce thoroughly.  I have found a few bugs hiding in my organic spinach and kale…  The best way to get the most out of your ingredients is to run the less juicy veggies through the juicer followed by a juicy veggie such as a cucumber.  I noticed that the dry produce would get stuck in the juicer if I did not chase it with something that is easier to liquefy.

This is the order I follow:
1) Kale
2) Celery
3) Spinach
4) Apple
5) Parsley and ginger
6) Cucumber

Pour your juice in a glass with ice and stir. Enjoy the refreshing green juice!

Cheers!

~Nancy Rae

Leave a Reply

