Low-Carb Alfredo “Pasta” and our healthier food journey

I LOVE carbs and pasta! Well, I used to…  I literally cooked pasta about 4 times a week, but that was back in college when I was not as health conscious.  These past three years have been very adventurous for my fiancé and I.  One of the changes we made was trying to eat as healthy as possible without driving our taste buds crazy.  We removed a ton of processed foods, started cooking more at home (well I am the cook) and we only eat at local restaurants with healthy choices.  Our cheat days also turned into a cheat meal and a cheat snack.

We were already pretty healthy but our digestive systems have been changing the older we got and the more fit we became.  We have become sensitive to lactose, wheat and artificial sweeteners.  I became bloated 24/7 and was having trouble digesting food even those gluten-free products.  I also got bored with my normal workout routine and started subscribing to online videos from Barre3 and signed up with a personal trainer (who is also a friend) at X-Train in Austin, TX.  I also track most of my food intake on My Fitness Pal.  One of the most important changes we made was looking at nutrition information and ingredient labels in detail.  Most people don’t pay attention to that and assume “low-fat” and “low-carb” labels are enough… My health has drastically changed since I am paying closer attention to my diet.  I lost some pesky pounds that took me about 4 years to get rid of no matter what I did.  My clothing fits better and I even went down a size or two!  This is a big deal for someone who is 4ft 10in!!  My body is changing and I can see muscles I never knew I had.

We now get discussed by things we used to eat as our cheat meals like pizza, burgers, and some of our favorite brunch meals.  90% of our meals are now made at home and I food prep 1-2 times a week.  My fiancé does not really cook unless it’s eggs or oatmeal so he will eat whatever I make.  In no way did I force anything on him.  He did it all by himself by noticing that he feels much better.  His digestive system has improved and he is more sensitive to artificial foods with additives and preservatives.  He has decreased his sugar intake and is now very serious when it comes to eating out.  I love it!!! He is my best friend and my support machine!  Without him, I would probably cave!  I make some pretty great food so it’s not like we eat like rabbits.  In fact, I can barely eat a salad I make.  I am SO picky about veggies and salad dressings.  Most veggies are disgusting to me if eaten raw.  Oh and I am a BIG fan of sauces, only if they are healthy of course.  If I can eat healthy while being picky, anyone can eat healthy and change their lifestyle.

I have some great suggestions for sauces and using alternatives to carbs.  One of my favorite kitchen toys is the GEFU Spirelli Spiral Cutter.  I discovered it thanks to Pinterest!  It was more expensive than I thought but it is amazing!  I have not purchased any type of pasta in months since we changed our diet so this was a great buy!

photo 2

Here is one of my first experiments with the spiral cutter…

IMG_3683

This is my version of low-carb Alfredo pasta.  I used a zucchini and a yellow squash as the alternative for pasta.  You can also use peppers and other veggies that fit in the spiral cutter.
There are various ways to cook the spiral “pasta.”  I steamed mine in a pot.  You can also try boiling or baking the veggies.  I was afraid of the pasta becoming too mushy so steaming it was a better decision.  It came out great!  This also only took about 10 minutes to make!!

IMG_3682

IMG_3678I found this very tasty Alfredo mix at Sprouts for under $2.  There are very few ingredients, it is gluten-free, low-carb and low-fat.  All you have to add is milk.  I would not suggest using soy milk, coconut milk or any flavored milk as you will change the texture and the taste.  Butter is an option but not one for me.

IMG_3680

Apologies for the awful photo…

Not only was this delicious but my fiancé asked me to make some more!   This Alfredo Pasta is now on our “pasta” recipes list.

I hope I inspired at least one person out there to make some changes in their lifestyle.  Like my blog, my posts and send me a message.  I would love to hear from you!🙂

Cheers!

~Nancy Rae

Leave a Reply

